HDMI Question

Youthman

• Moderators

My dad called to tell me that they bought a Toshiba HD DVD player today and a new TV for their bedroom. He moved his current DVD player to the bedroom and has that connected fine. He wants to connect his HD-A2KU to his Sony Wega KDFE42A10 HDTV. His receiver is an older Onkyo TX-DS656 that does not have HDMI. I'm thinking of hooking the audio up via Toslink (fiber optic) and the video up via HDMI.

I'm new to HD and HDMI but am learning so I have a few questions regarding the hookup.

1. Since his receiver is only Dolby Digital, if he has a HD movie, will it play as DD or will he have to select some pro-logic or stereo sound in order to get sound?

2. Will this cable from Monoprice.com work with this setup? Too bad he cannot take advantage of the 1.3 to send the uncompressed audio to his receiver.

3. Is it correct that since the Onkyo does not have a DTS decoder and the Toshiba does not have Multi-Channel Outputs, the Receiver will not be able to process DTS?

Any other recommended options for hooking this up to acheive the best possible sound and video with their current equipment? Below shows the rear of the Toshiba.

post-27215-1381936100852_thumb.jpg

1) Within each movie's menu there are different surround formats to choose. I don't remember exactly (mainly because I have a two channel setup) but I don't remember many discs in HD-DVD being in DTS format. Its usually Dolby Digital Plus which I would imagine that receivers would decode as regular Dolby Digital.

2) Yes, monoprice is a great place for HDMI and other cables and it will work fine.

3) Correct. And like I said before, I don't recall seeing many or any HD-DVD discs in DTS. Not that there aren't, but in his case he couldn't use DTS anyway.

Actually, you shouldn't need to. Just set the receiver for the optical input - it should fall back to 2 channel mode when the optical stream sends it. That's how mine works anyhow.

• Moderators