Best A/V settings for Stereo and HT

MikeW

I'm a newbie to Klipsch and A/V receivers. I've been playing around with the internal crossovers of my Sony DB840 trying to find that perfect sound for both stereo music and home theatre. I think I have found that perfect sound that matches my taste, however I feel I can get more from my system with a little assistance from the experts.

Does anyone have recomendations for bass/mid/treble settings for all 5 speakers?

Currently I have full Reference 3 package.

MW

Bass, treble and midrange should be bone flat or bypassed altogether. I use the direct mode for this on the Marantz SR-8000. Not sure what Sony offers in that regard, if anything. The key is you don't want any "colour" added (at least I don't). That way you'll be getting the pure sound as intended.

• 3 weeks later...

Hi MikeW,

I'm a newbie with the same receiver and RF IIIs (older center and surrounds i'll probably upgrade soon) and have been wondering the same thing, so looking forward to any answers, including how you've set your system. On the home theater forum there's a lot of discussion about setting the speaker sizes to small and the sub crossover on the receiver to as low as possible, >60hz on the DB840.

This message has been edited by AlanN on 02-08-2002 at 07:32 PM

If you have the Reference Towers, I would set them to full with all other speakers set to small. Since the receiver is determining the crossover points I would not set a point on the sub or if I did I would be sure it was higher than the crossover point set on the receiver. Somehow my edit got posted as a quote below. Must have pushed the wrong button.

------------------

Soundog's HT Systems

This message has been edited by soundog on 02-09-2002 at 11:28 AM

quote:

Originally posted by soundog: