Cornwall midrange keeps going out

pigonthewing76

Hello all. I recently purchased a pair of 79 Cornwalls and when I first hooked them up the midrange horn was out. I messed with the connection and then midrange horn was fine. Now the horn keeps going out again. I switched channels and changed connections and I keep having the same issue with the horn so I know it's not my amplifier. I am not tech savvy so I have no idea how to fix it unless I take it to a audio repair shop. Can someone please guide me in the right direction on how to fix it.

Thanks for your help.

You need to be more specific about your trouble-shooting.

It sounds like you have ruled out the amplifier. Using voltmeter to check for continuity, are the connections within the crossover secure? Are the connections from the crossover to the driver secure (wiggle them). If this is okay, disconnect the wire from the driver to the crossover (disconnect at the crossover side since it may be soldered on the driver-side) and measure the resistance across the driver. It should be 5-10 ohm, then wiggle the leads on the driver to see if the connection is secure (don't open up the driver at this point). Finally, hook up the wire from the driver to the "other" crossover to see if the driver is still intermeittent.

Tell us the results. The good news is that it is most likely easily fixed. The bad news is that an intermittent connection can take awhile track down (sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn't ...)

Playing a long shot - one of my '74 Cornwalls had the same problem when I first got it. I traced the problem to a cold solder joint inside one of the transformers. I peeled back the wax paper, resoldered it and it's been fine for the last 37 years,

I'm not recommending you do this unless you are pretty experienced with such things. The midrange driver on the Cornwall is really hard to damage - PWK used to say they almost never got them back for repair.