Cornwall I - Determining an Oil or Lacquer Finish?

acasanis

Hi Everyone,

I've spent the evening searching, however I've come up dry... I'm very new to the Klipsch/Cornwall world and am trying to sort out my new (to me) 1976 Cornwalls. The lable on the rear of the speakers is missing all information except "Tested".

Is there a way to tell whether the veneer (cherry?) is finished in oil or lacquer? When you look close, you can almost make out pores in the wood. The finish is somewhat "tacky" to the touch if you gently run a finger over them. They very easily leave fingerprints which do not wipe (easily) away with a dry microfiber cloth. A damp cloth is required.

I have included a picture of the label - I am thinking they may have been re-finished by the staining on the label? I cannot see them coming from the factory looking like this. They are 35 years old mind you - so the staining could be anything...

I am trying to get some info front the previous owner but thought I would post here as well...

Pics:

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

Cheers!

It could be, from your description, to either be oiled, or lacquered; but the lacquer has been softened by a previous owner applying oil to wipe them down.

Either way, at this point, you may wish to consider wiping them down with lacquer thinner until they appear "clean". When they dry, the cherry will appear to be lighter. Two things happen; first - if they were oiled - you will remove the old nasty oil.... Second, if they were in fact lacquered, you will remove the old nasty and now gummy lacquer. In either case once they are cleaned, they can be properly oiled.