What do I have to upgrade with forte speakers?

hcnelly

Hi guys, I'm pretty new to all this, and I have a question about a 2nd pair of fortes I recently purchased. A couple of months ago, I purchased my first used pair of fortes and fell in love with them. Compared to my heresy iiis, they just seem to have more musical presence and slam, and it really sounds like a live musical performance in the room- especially with vocals. I decided to purchase a second pair as a Christmas gift for my dad.

Well, I hooked this pair up- they didn't sound bad by any means, but I noticed that they lacked the magic and detail of the first pair. It just didn't have the same bass or vocal presence or slam for that matter. Vocals seemed to be coming further away, not in front of me if that makes sense. The drivers seem to be working fine and all, but I can't give these speakers to my Dad. I'll give him the good ones and possibly upgrade this other pair- which I have never done before.

What needs to be done with these? Would upgrading the crossovers on this 2nd pair breathe new life into them, or do i need to replace the drivers as well? I'm kind of bummed that they didn't measure up to the first pair. They have the year 1985 on back while the first pair has 1986- not really sure if this matters or not but they seem to be older. The speaker terminals are a little bit different too. How much would all of this end up costing me? Thanks guys

but I noticed that they lacked the magic and detail of the first pair. It just didn't have the same bass or vocal presence or slam for that matter. Vocals seemed to be coming further away, not in front of me if that makes sense.

The lack of bass and distant vocals that don't locate well suggest to me that they might be out of phase. Reverse one of the speaker leads and see what happens.