Khorns???

I'm new to Klipsch, but let me get this straight: the top of the line Klipsch speakers not only have horn loaded tweeters, but horn loaded midrange and subwoofer drivers as well? Does this actually sound good? I always thought horn loading was optimal for tweeters only. If horn loaded bass sounds so good, why don't other speaker companies offer it?

I guess maybe some of my confusion comes from not really understanding what exactly "horn" means. If anyone could explain or post some links to online diagrams I'd really appreciate it.

Also, I live in central california, does anybody know any hifi shops that stock Khorns so I can hear them myself without spending $5,000+?

Go to the homepage and do a dealer search for your zipcode...once you hear properly set-up Klipschorns, nothing else will ever sound the same again...trust me!

For an explanation of horn-loading of loudspeakers by the Master himself, go to: www.hifilit.com

When you get there, click on the PWK klipsch logo, then when the next page opens, read the old magazine article on that page, page by page...pretty much self-explanatory...PWK was good at explaining things so you didn't have to be an engineer to understand them.

The reason why other speaker companies don't come out with fully horn-loaded home speakers is due to the size and complexity of the cabinets...and the fact that they haven't figured out how to do it better than PWK did it over 50 years ago! LOL!

------------------

If you want to send a private message, or have already done so, be aware I have not as yet been able to retrieve them. Send e-maill instead, please...just note Klipsch forum in the heading so it doesn't get deleted.

This message has been edited by HDBRbuilder on 05-16-2002 at 06:39 PM