Component Amps

KlipschManiac

Hey, fellow Klipsch fans, I have the R7 complete HT setup, and would like to get into dedicated amplification/preamps. I am a total newb in this area, and "TheEar" has recommended the ATI 2505 and ATI 1505. I want to buy something that works with the Ref. 7's, similar to how Denon receivers sound. I currently have the Integra 6.2 rec. (100x5), and like the overall sound, but it has poor bass management. I was thinking about getting a amp with 100x5. This would seem to be more than enough power for the ultra efficient Refs., and I can't stand ear bleeding volumes, well for very long... The ATI are 250x5 and 150x5 and quite expensive. I was thinking this is overkill, and was looking at maybe purchasing something in the Carver line or NAD, such as the Carver A705x or NAD 925THX. Much cheaper and THX certified. I hear that Adcom is a bad mix with Klipsch, so I'll stay away here. Well, am I thinking clearly, or am I still suffering from a Friday night hangover? Or should I just forget it and get the ATI 1505? I have also read that ATI's are "bright". Sorry "TheEAR", not trying to diss your advice, just curious and being cheap too. Look forward to hearing from you all. Thanks everyone that has replied to my previous inquiries.

Scott

KlipschManiac,

Here is a list of some that I remember received good reviews here: Acurus, Denon, McIntosh and Outlaw. I personally use an Outlaw, Sonic Frontier Amp 1 and Dynaco ST 70 MKII for HT f/r duty. The latter are tube amps that power my main front and rear channels. The Outlaw powers a second set of RS-3 rears and my center channel speaker. It's said that the Outlaw sonic character is very similar to the ATI's, at far less the cost. I'm very pleased with my Outlaw!

There are many good choices out there, so hopefully others will offer suggestions as well.

Wish you the best in your selection.

Wes

------------------

KLIPSCH IS MUSICf>

My Systems f>s>c>