This is friggan hilarious!!

skonopa

I found this little gem on a website called TechTales (www.techtales.com) . It is from the June 2002 section (Item #66). I figure this would be perfectly appropriate for this forum. Enjoy Smile.gif

------- Begin Quote (www.techtales.com) -------

But whats the difference between a speaker and a cable modem?

speakers were invented around what 90 years ago or longer? I dont know anyone from age 3-125 that doesnt know what a speaker is, however I met my match tonight.

I am a computer technician for a nationwide High Speed Data company. It was a boring night until I received this call.

Me: *** Technical support, this is *****, How can i help you?

Cst: I cant get online and i want you to fix it.

Me: Ok well let me get your phone number and I'll bring up your account. (i spend a minute getting information and verifying account)

Me: ok mam, What type of cable modem do you have?

Cst: Its the one you gave me.

Me: We use many different types of modems, what does it say on your Cable Modem?

Cst: It says Boston Acoustic Speaker Model # 6076

Me: Mam, that is a speaker for your computer or stereo.

Cst: thats what it says. It has one light on it that says power.

Me: Mam again that is a speaker.

Cst: What is a speaker?

Me: (shaking my head at her stupidness) That is what creates sound for a radio or for your computer. Its just like speakers in your car where you listen to music.

Cst: Radio? Whats that?

Me: (getting frustrated) Mam look for a small blue box.

Cst: This is the only thing i have here and your guy who set it up for me and it has the word subwoofer on it. Therefore it is your cable modem which you set up.

Me: Mam that is a subwoofer speaker used to create sound. The deep bass that is heard from drums. (im checking the previous calls for this idiot by now and i see that she called 2 hours earlier and has a trouble call for tomorrow at no charge)

Cst: Im telling you that is my cable modem.