Amp Recommendations

WDM

I'm new to the Khorn club and looking for advice on what would be a good amplifier. I have a pair of 70's vintage Khorns. I'm planning on installing the ALK crossovers in the future. Currently I'm running them with a Linn LK100 amp. It sounds good, but most likely I could do better. I have an old Citation XX that puts out 250 watts per channel of juice at 8 ohms. I am also considering tubes. My local 'experts' are split down the middle on what to use: alot of clean power vs. low watt tubes. What to do?

Hi WDM,welcome to the BB!

I've opted for good clean power from low watt tubes! I couldn't be happier with my 2 channel rig.

------------------

2 Channel System:

'78 Khorns w/ALK networks

Welborne Labs 2A3 Moondog Monoblocks

*coming soon* Supratek Syrah preamp

McIntosh MCD 7007 CDP

Sony S9000ES SACD

McIntosh MR-78 Tuner

DIYCable Twisted Cross Connect Speaker Cable

Silver Audio Hyacinth interconnects (preamp->amp)

DIYCable Superlatives (CDP/SACD/->preamp)

DH Labs Silver Pulse interconnects (Tuner->preamp)

f>

s>

This message has been edited by edster00 on 08-26-2002 at 06:20 PM

You have lots of choices and folks here fall into several "camps". My "camp" is SET. I never really cared for Klipsch until I heard them with SET. Prior to getting the Khorns, I was listening to the Lamhorn and SAP Quartette. SET offer, IMO, greater dynamics, a lower noise floor, and the best timbral resolution of any other style amp.

Forget solid state with Khorns. Sorry, if I offended anyone, but tubes rule with Klipsch (esp Khorns).

Popular choices here are the:

2A3-tubed Wellbourne and Wright Sound;

I have the Korneff 45;

Others tubes include the 300B, PX25;

I don't care for the hi-current SET (32, 52, 300BXLS) with Klipsch, although they work with med efficiency speakers.

Quite a few like push-pull (my choice would by EL34, EL84, 6V6- great tone, but kinda hard to find). 6550/KT88, IMO, are too heavy handed for Klipsch though.