Breaking-in???

MCos

I'm about to get my denon 3802 and rf-5's and was wondering how I should break the speakers in. I know some people dont believe in breaking speakers in, but im a noob and just want to try it. If you do know about breakin them in, i'd appreciate it if you could give me some advice.

You can do what UPS did to mine to "break" them in, and drop them and then drop something REAL heavy on top of that, kick them around a little, then act like nothing happened. That should be a good "break in" Smile.gif j/k I would just play them how you want, I don't think there's really a break in period, but if you're scared or something, play them at lower volume for a bit, to get everything moving and warmed up, then slowly increase the volume to where you want, and be done with it Wink.gif

------------------

Scottc>s>

devil.gif

Goldsmithc>s>

Home Theatre:s>

Klipsch RF-3's (Front Mains)c>

Klipsch RC-3 (Center)c>

Klipsch RS-3's (Rear Surrounds)c>

Polk Audio PSW650 subc>

Harman Kardon AVR-125c>

Mitsubishi 60" Big Screen VS-60609c>

Sony DVD DVP-S530Dc>

Sony VCR SLV-N77c>

quote:

Originally posted by William F. Gil McDermott:

I'm starting a new thread on the "break in" issue. Please recall that in the past I'd made posts to the effect that I thought it was an unfounded theory without merit. Now, that has changed.

Perhaps the theory overall started from the automobile industry. I've seen one manufacturer recommend low rpm for the first 500 miles or so. It may have had something to do with getting the rings seated properly. It does not seem to be common advice to the car buying public though. I've not seen it about raw drivers a hobbyist buys though. (But see below.)