New Reference Series with 2A3 SET????

HarleyGuy

Has anyone attemted using any of the new Reference line with a flea-powered SET??? I'm just getting into this SET thing, and I'm kicking myself for selling my Heresys last year. It's not easy finding high efficiency speakers that are affordable and natural sounding. How would the RB-5II or the RF-5 work with 3.5 watts???? Anyone ever tried this here??

Thanks in advance....

To be honest, I cant think of anyone here using SET amps with the reference line of speakers. That is not to say it wouldnt work given the right choice of amp. It just seems the Heritage models are particularly suited for SET amplification, even over the RF series which still strikes me as a bit of a compromise between audio and Home Theater.

Perhaps you can be one of the first in here to find out, although I know ole Dean (RF-7) is itching to jump ship into the low watt arena. Poor bastard...

Just remember that all SET amps are not created equal and two 3.5w amps have the potential to sound quite different with different top and bottom extension. Frankly, I havent heard two SETs sound alike, come to think of it.

Harleyguy,

I am assuming that you are the same Harleyguy that has been asking questions in the Bottlehead Forum. Just to speed up the replys on what gear you are looking into...

He has been looking into the Bottlehead Foreplay preamp with I belive stock Paramour monoblock amps. I believe he is also contimplating Pi speakers and Bottlehead's own Straight 8's for speakers as opposed to something from Klipsch.