The right amp for an RF 7 based HT

deepmukherjee

Hi ! I'm a newbie. But i was curious to know what should be the specs of an amp to drive a RF 7 system. The speaker specs say 250 W RMS continuous. I have gone thru much of the forums, and people are driving their RF7s with Denon AVR 3803 s and similar amps, which have outputs of 140 - 180 w range. Does driving a speaker with an underpowered amp damage the speakers? I have heard the RF7s powered by the Sunfire Ultimate Receiver (200W RMS x 7), and was blown away. But the receiver alone costs about $3000. Can you recomend an amp around the $1500 range??

Thanks!

You don't need an ampliflier rated at the speakers maximum power handling. The RF-7 are very efficient at 102db @ 1W @ 1M so a reasonably powered receiver will make them play very loudly if desired. In that price range I would look at the new Denon 3805 or the new HK receiver that is out. Perhaps you could get a closeout deal on the soon to be obselete Denon 3803 but the 3805 has some nice new helpful features to it. Your best bet is to go out and do some actual listening (if this is possible in your particular area) and see what sounds best to you there are a ton of good choices out there right now by alot of manufacturer's don't limit yourself to just a couple. Good luck with whatever you choose and welcome to the forum.

----------------

On 3/18/2004 3:36:00 PM deepmukherjee wrote:

Hi ! I'm a newbie. But i was curious to know what should be the specs of an amp to drive a RF 7 system. The speaker specs say 250 W RMS continuous. I have gone thru much of the forums, and people are driving their RF7s with Denon AVR 3803 s and similar amps, which have outputs of 140 - 180 w range. Does driving a speaker with an underpowered amp damage the speakers? I have heard the RF7s powered by the Sunfire Ultimate Receiver (200W RMS x 7), and was blown away. But the receiver alone costs about $3000. Can you recomend an amp around the $1500 range??

Thanks!