HT help for noob

Skidmarks

Hey guys (and Gals)

I am rather new to HT, and aside from the learning curve would like to ask for a few comments about Powersurge and clean power units.

I am still trying to figure out how to hook all my new equipment up myself here, and was reading about power cleaners and protection. I think after droping nearly 10K into this HT I should find out more about protection.

So I ask for advice in this area, hell any area of HT.

Thx.

i look at power conditioners along the same taboo subject as high-end speaker wire vs. standard wire from the hardware store...many people swear by one or the other and never agree. 1.gif

i use a monster hts-1000...pretty basic power strip with a spot for every component, but not a conditioner. IMHO i wouldn't waste money on a true conditioner (big $$$$) and just get a nice power strip/surge protector. spend the money you save on better speakers...or a bigger tv...or projector...that will make more of an impact than "cleaner" power.

Skidmarks (did I already mention that that's a funny name?)

I'll be perfectly honest with you. I own the Monster HTS7000 power conditioner, which all my HT gear (with the exception of my 2 amplifiers) is plugged into, and then the HTS7000 goes directly into the Monster AVS2000, which keeps everything at a solid 120 volts. The supposed "ideal" voltage to keep all components running at their utmost.

BULL$HIT. I see and hear no difference. BUT, they provide me peace of mind that nothing can fry my gear. And I guess I'm also one of those idiotic types that wants to have "all the bases covered," so whether or not it actually makes a visual or audible difference, it's nice to know that what you're seeing is truly it's best. But I'm here to tell you it makes no damn difference.