RF7 and Subwoofer ? vs Definitive Tech

nuclearay

I have enjoying this forum for several months now it is my turn to post.

I have been a long time listener of Klipsch, but never an owner.

I have been shopping around for speakers for several months and narrowed it down to either the RF7s or the similarly priced DefTech BP2002?... I think that was the model. (Don't worry people, I am getting the RF7s next week) In the store I was able to crank the p.o.s. Sony Reciever pretty hard and the Klipsch just about blew the rest of the hair on my head clean off. My only disappointment in comparing to the DefTech was the bass -- but I suppose powered subs will do that.

I am on a limited budged and probably will not be buying a "decent" sub until next year -- but I have found an older SW10 for about $150 locally. Actually, there are two SW10s for sale and could probably get the pair for a little over $200.

Would this be a good stopgap measure for bass until later?

Is this a good price?

From what I read from other posts are not two subs better than one?

I have a HK AVR8000 used for 50%movies and 50%music

I love metal/double bass, electronica (kruder&dorfmeister, etc.) and the Mrs. loves the booty shaking music.

Thanks y'all for any input.

----------------

On 4/9/2004 11:20:15 AM nuclearay wrote:

I have enjoying this forum for several months now it is my turn to post.

I have been a long time listener of Klipsch, but never an owner.

I have been shopping around for speakers for several months and narrowed it down to either the RF7s or the similarly priced DefTech BP2002?... I think that was the model. (Don't worry people, I am getting the RF7s next week) In the store I was able to crank the p.o.s. Sony Reciever pretty hard and the Klipsch just about blew the rest of the hair on my head clean off. My only disappointment in comparing to the DefTech was the bass -- but I suppose powered subs will do that.