K-77/crossover issue? or Why is it so hard for me to name a thread, won't you read it anyway regardless of the title? Maybe not, though,now that the title is so long...

ben.

So, I was excited to bring home the Mc30s again, as they had been out for a power supply rework & to correct a "barn job", as my tech put it. I lugged them home and got them all wired up, let them warm a bit, and hit play on the Coldplay disc that already was in the changer. Ahhhh, now that's nice. Even Shannon commented on how much nicer they sound than anything else we've had. I started playing with the output gains on the Paragon to dial in the balance, when my heart sank a bit. Left side sounded like crap. As Shannon put it (I love this), "It just sounds like a speaker!" I couldn't quite put my finger on it ,and it was late, so I just swapped ICs and flipped a few switches, and was able to rule out the preamp. Didn't feel like swapping speaker cables around, so I popped a movie in and tried not to think about it.