Please educate me.....

BillH2121

As I have mentioned in some other posts, I am new to HT and have been out of the audio market for 30 years. I recently purchased a Denon AVR 1705, RF15, RC25, RS25s and RW10. While I am impressed with this system as far as movie watching goes, the sound is a little "thin" when I listen to CDs as compared to my "old" setup of Mac 2105, C26, and Mac XR5 speakers. I know nothing about the heritage speakers, BUT when I look at pictures of Cornwalls, Khorns, etc, it doesn't seem possible that essentially a woofer and a horn could match the richness/completeness/full spectrum (you chose the subjective term) that my Mac speakers produce. Please educate me about Klipsch and what level of Klipsch speaker I would need to match my old two channel system. Thanks for your time and help.

XR7.jpg

Well, here is the XR7. The XR5 was a bit smaller, using a 12" passive, 8", 1.5", and two 2 5/8" tweeters.

I would imagine this sounding substantially different than what you have now. Probably a lot of bass out of this design, with somewhat of a diffuse soundfield -- certainly more enveloping than what you are hearing now. Also, the large baffle provides a bigger launching point for the sound -- and so a bigger soundstage. This type of speaker, like Bose or Definitive Technology, makes use of the adjacent room boundaries to move the sound around. The downside is uneven and unpredictable in-room frequency response.

Horns exemplify a completely different approach, using controlled directivity to minimize in-room boundary effects -- which provides more even and somewhat predictable in-room frequency response. Horns also have lower distortion levels since there is less diaphragm movement for any given SPL as compared to a direct radiator design (like the XR5). Higher sensitivity also means one can concentrate on quality lower powered amps, as opposed to high powered amps which don't always perform at their optimum at the low power part of their spectrum.