KLF-20 and RC-3 Bad Match?

raneman

I'm a Klipsch newbie and need some help/info. Bought KLF-20s a few months ago (great price). I was planning to scroung up a C-7 but added an RC-3 a few weeks ago upon the recommendation of my local dealer (he said this was a great match). Well, when I set things up with my Avia DVD and sound level meter I was quite disappointed. RC-3 didn't seem to match very well in the pink noise "sweep" and "click" tests. Have listened quite a bit in the last few weeks and remain unhappy. Have tried playing with every setting I can thing of (small/large, center EQ adjustments, etc.), but things sound better with the RC-3 off and my KLF-20s doing all the work. Seems either the RC-3 gets buried or I have to crank it up about 5 dB and then it doesn't blend. Now I find the Klipsch forum and notice almost everyone with KLFs uses the C7. Found one post that mentioned the RC-3 wasn't a good match with the KLFs, but was looking for more information. My dealer is "seeing what he can do," but it looks like I might get stuck with the RC-3. Just wondering if it's me or if I should push back on my dealer for his bad (in my opinion) recommendation. I'm even considering selling my KLFs and starting my speaker search over. Thanks for any information.

Setup:

27" Sony Wega

Yamaha RXV1000

Mitsubishi SVHS

Sony DVP NC600

KLF-20 mains

RC-3 center

Old Infinity rears (to be replaced with KSP-S6s if possible-not taking a chance on Reference rears)

Monster Z1 and M-series cabling (no bi-wiring yet)

Hey raneman your klipsch dealer was following SWYG economics (sell what you got) I would never had told a customer that the rc-3 could even be close to matching the sound of the 20's. you have two problems there..

1) the efficiency of the twenties is going to overpower the center channel thats why you have to crank it up 5+ db.