Best "new release" of 2006---post your favorite here!

Allan Songer

OK, I know it's silly, but let's post our favorite albums of 2006. How about one "favorite" and two "honorable mention" choices?"

This one gets my vote as best album of 2006:

B000ERU2BQ.01._SS400_SCLZZZZZZZ_V6443935

I've been listening to Danny for about 6-7 years now, mostly live with the John Heard trio here in LA and also with Dave Douglas and Vincent Herring on compact disc. Danny is a great player and I don't use that term lightly. His debut as a leader on Criss Cross is really a stunning acheivement, easily the best debut of the year and also gets my vote as best album. It was recorded in a single marathon session, as most of the great jazz albums of decades past were laid down. And the album harkens back to the great jazz trio LPs of the 50's--you know, the great albums from Red Garland, Bud Powell, Hampton Hawes, Three Sounds, etc . .

Here are my two honorable mentions:

B000E5LFEQ.01._AA240_SCLZZZZZZZ_.jpg

Andrew Hill, Time Lines on Blue Note

A master returns with a fantasic new album. Greg Tardy shows why he is THE modern master of the clarinet and veteran Charles Tolliver plays his *** off with his big, fat warm trumpet. I highly reccomend this album to anyone who loves modern jazz. You might find the music strange, but it's beautiful and if you give it a chance you will fall under it's spell.

B000CZ0PP8.01._AA240_SCLZZZZZZZ_.jpg

Chris Potter, Undreground on Sunnyside

Fierce, funky and challenging music. I bought this CD after one of his shows at the Jazz Bakery earlier this year. Hearing him play live has turned me into a BIG fan. This album SMOKES.

"Fox Confessor Brings The Flood" by Neko Case is far and away my favorite album from '06. BUY THIS RECORD!

Hey jdm

I am going to see Neko open for the hag in oakland in feb. I have not heard her but I have heard she desrves to be heard!

\