Tone controls (bass/treble) on Onkyo 605

nezff

On my Onkyo TXSR605 there is an option for bass/treble or tone controls as its called. By default from Onkyo this is set to 0 and 0. bass and treble both has values from -10 to +10. I started playing with these the other day and let me tell you, there is a big difference from 0 values to +10 values. I tried both set to +10 and they sound pretty darn good. I guess my concern is, by doing this, am I doing any harm to the speakers by setting this so high? On my RF62s the increased bass sounds great. I start noticing the change in sound around +6 value. The values go as follows: +2,+4,+6,+8,and +10. When I play with the treble setting, the sound gets more I would say more clear if you will. It sounds very pingy if the bass is not equal or more than the treble setting. I ran them both up to +10 and the sound is better than the 0 value hands down. What exactly am I doing by messing with these settings? thanks for all your help guys.

Purists will go tsk at your using tone controls at all. So doing, in their view, degrades the signal and introduces distortion. But people hear differently. If it sounds good to you, go for it. Just be sure to listen for any distortion or "forced" quality at higher volumes and if that occurs, back off the volume and/or the tone controls.

10db bass boost is quite a lot. It may be that your speakers are bass-shy below around 50hz. If you have a chance to borrow someone's powered subwoofer, hook it up, set your amp tone controls to flat, turn up the subwoofer volume by itself to your liking, and see if you like what you hear.

I have a powered sub. I had the RF62s and RC62 set at bass 0 and treble 0. Like i said, it just seems to sound more clearer sounding. Is this a bad thing turning them up this far? pros or cons?

Tone Control ±10 dB, 50 Hz (Bass) ±10 dB, 20 kHz (Treble)