Serial number appearance?

tripod

I just bought a Klipsch SC-1 from an online retailer. After receiving it I read Klipsch.com's statement about unauthorized dealers. Now I'm starting to be paranoid about the whole deal. It was shipped in a factory box and has the factory owner's manual and packing. However, the box was opened in order to insert the shipping paperwork. Other than that, almost everything looks legit. The only thing that seems a little out of place is that the serial number is printed on a white laminated paper label instead of the metal plate I would have expected. Is this how Klipsch does their serial numbers or is something going on here? Thanks for your advice!

where did you get them online?

------------------

-justin

SoundWise Support

A technical help site created by me and my fellow Klipschers

I am an amateur, if it is professional;

ProMedia help you want email Amy or call her @ 1-888-554-5665 or for an RA# 800-554-7724 ext 5

Klipsch Home Audio help you want, email support@klipsch.com or call @ 1-800-KLIPSCH

RA# Fax Number=317-860-9140 / Parts Department Fax Number=317-860-9150s>

Bought it from acousticsounddesign.com. They seemed like a big enough operation, so I thought they were legit. They even encourage customers to post their buying experience to HT boards! What should the serial number look like? I guess I better call Klipsch and see what they say about the whole thing. Hey Bryan2, what was the outcome with your SS-1?

quote:

Originally posted by tripod:

The only thing that seems a little out of place is that the serial number is printed on a white laminated paper label instead of the metal plate I would have expected.

I don't recall ever seeing Klipsch Serial Numbers on metal plates. Actually, the "Unauthorized Dealer Terms and Conditions" are applicable regardless of how the the Seial Numbers are afixed to the speakers. Click on the lower right hand of your screen, the link will explain Klipsch's policy in detail.

Wes