AK-3 crossover

Jim Cornell

What is the AK-3 crossover, is it in the newer K-horns?

And what is better than the AA, on upgrading the caps, which ones?

Coils, or the liqiud caps?

Im new to the K-horns, so all the sound is new to me, and i dont know what upgrading would do!

If i could get a reply, id know more what im looking at, im looking at the crossover now!

Dusty, and it looks pretty dried out here!

Looks like it was made in 49 LOL!

Regards Jim

Jim,

The AK-3 came in the most rescent production of the Khorn. It has faster slopes to each filter than the AA. As to which is better.. That is a subject of endless debate! You won't get consistnat answer. I think most will say that the older AA is best though.

Better quality parts is always and improvment. Use Polypropylene caps and heavy solid wire inductors for the woofer and Litz wire coils for the smaller ones. You can get this stuff from Solen of Canada.

AL K.

Jim,

During Q-Man's and my crossover comparison, we both thought the AK-3 was the best sounding crossover Klipsch had in it's arsenal (the comparison consisted of AL, AA, AK-3 and ALK crossovers). Comparing the AK-3 versus the ALK was a very close call but I still preferred the ALK. I don't think it's worth paying $500 for the upgrade however. Now the AA and AL is a different story. If I had either of those 2 crossovers in my Khorns or La Scala's, I would opt for the ALK's in a heartbeat. And that's exactly what I did. Smile.gif

Everybody's ears are different, so you may have to find somebody in your area who has some and do the comparison yourself...

Mike

My Khorns have the AK-2 crossover in them. How does the AK-2 differ from the AK-3?

Thanks,

Greg

------------------

HK AVR20 II

Toshiba DVD

32" Toshiba TV

Odyssey Stratos

1987 Khorns Mains

1976 LaScala's Rears

KV-1 Center

KSW-12 Sub

Two-Channel

Fisher 800C Receiver

1987 Khorns

Teac CDP

Pioneer TT

Jim,