Different sound from "same" tubes.

flappycars

Hello,

I have had a new set of tubes put in my amp earlier this year and I was never as pleased with the sound as the old ones. They were all Edicron EL 34 but the new ones had a different identification number to the old and look different inside. As I have got a suspect valve in the new set I refitted the old ones and it sounds better.

I have since ordered another new set this time Unison Research branded ones which are in fact made by JJ in Slovakia, so it will be interesting to see what the difference is when they turn up.

Can I just plug them in and play or should the amp be "biased" and what does that mean?

Hope somebody can tell me as I am fairly new to valves

I'd Email Unison Research for those questions.

Do you have the manual?

If the amplifier has a biasing feature, the manual should state where the bias should be set, for a given tube/valve.

Does the unit have a built in bias meter? If not, it should explain how to use a VOM for biasing.

Or you can look on the net for the specifications from the sites for the particular tubes that you have, and check to see if they match up.

Some makes of tubes are designated as a certain type, but do not necessarily match up spec wise.

Mullard EL-34?

John, I see you've discovered why amplifier manufacturers tried to dump tube designs 30 years ago. 2.gif

The all sound different to me. And many times in the past, even though you bought an RCA EL34 for instance, didn't necessarily mean that all RCA EL34 came from the same factory. Actually, I don't think any major "tube manufacturer" has actually made tubes in their own plants for decades. They usually sub-contract it to smaller more specialized OEM (Original Equipment Manufacturer) & label them with their own brand name. Some companies even specialize just in the re-labeling/testing/matching of these delightful glowing objects.