Amplifier for La Scalas (AL5)!

Bhai

So I am considering getting a Prima Luna:

https://www.primaluna-usa.com/integrated-amplifiers

I was thinking of the Evo 200, but a bit tempted to stretch a bit for the Evo 300 mainly because it has an output for a subwoofer. I feel down the line I would love to add one, but really not sure right now. Now my main questions are:

1 - There's no good way to connect a subwoofer to the Evo 200 right since it doesn't have an out?

2 - Do you get the bang for your buck in moving from 200 to 300 in general? I have very little technical knowledge. But I feel since I've spent so much on the La Scalas, I don't want to 'cheap out' on the amp. So what's your take? Does the 300 take the experience truly to another level compared to the 200?

3 - Please suggest other brands to consider! I'm out here in India so brands like Decware etc are simply not available, but I could easily import it myself.

Very eager to get your insights!

You could buy a subwoofer with speaker level inputs and outputs. These subwoofers usually have speaker

level inputs and outputs so you would connect the LaScalas to the subwoofer's speaker level

outputs.

You could also run TWO SETS of speaker wires from your amp; one pair to your LaScalas and the other pair to

your subwoofer. See below for why this is possible.

Or, if the subwoofer of choice has only speaker level inputs as some do, you could connect them to the

B pair of speaker outputs on your amp. These inputs should be high impedance so they won't strain your

amp, but with this connection method it will dictate your choice of amp as you'll need one with two sets

of speaker outputs.

• Like 1