Critical listening of "techno"

Audio Flynn

I have been a critic of using heavy metal or techno for critical listeneing of components.

Vocal, Accoustic instruments, drums, and amplified guitar are ones i can relate to live through my being in the room with bands over the years.

One CD that has me a bit baffled is the newest Peter Gabriel CD, "UP".

I have been listening to Gabriel in low fi since 1976 with the origonal Genisis band.

I have heard him live 3 times including last fall tour with the Blind Boys of Alabama.

--------------

I find this guy to be a perfectionist in all aspects of music writing and production.

In keeping with PWK as I remember; he uses a Bosendorfer piano; a stable accoustic instrument to find in the mix. And it does sound very natural. My Chorus IIs are next to a piano in the living room. It does not sound as good as the recorded Bosendorfer.

Baffling thing is the bass pedal "synthesiser" he uses; in addition to Tony Levin on the bass guitar.

The bass pedal sound is quite amazing!

It makes 16-18 watt peaks of LK-48 sound like a subwoofer.

It makes the short list of techno CDs eligible for critical listening in my book.

Has anyone else have an opinion of this CD or other Peter Gabriel software

I'm quite fond of his previous studio effort "US". Produced by Daniel Lanois, there is a lot going on in the mid- and background. The track "Washing of the Water" is a special moment. Lanois is one of my favorite producers ever. He is very good at creating textures using a wide variety of sounds. "So", also produced by Lanois, is a bit more sparse, but still excellent. Other albums of note include his own "For the Beauty of Wynona" and Dylan's "Time Out of Mind".

As for other "techno" stuff, the band Soul Coughing is very interesting. Bjork's recordings are personal favorites, both musically and production-wise. Portishead's self-titled debut blows my mind to this day.

If you are defining techno as rave style dance hall music I agree.