Estate Sales For Dummies !!

Chris Robinson

Just read Thebes' amazing tale of finding that $50 Marantz at an estate sale. Simply amazing. It is not, however, the only time I've heard of amazing bargains at these sales. Folks here seem to score great deals throughout the year.

My point is ... I'm a VERY SLOW NEWBIE (zero) when it comes to estate sales.

(1) I don't know how to find them,

(2) how to scout them out, once I'm there,

(3) any tricks for getting to the good stuff.

So, for you estate sale "experts", can you help a newbie like me getting started with a handy-dandy "101" course?

Assume I know NOTHING 9.gif

Estate sales are typically listed in the newspaper classifieds. Professional scavengers will go to great lengths to see everything before the public arrives in the hopes of finding some expensive jewelry that is thought to be costume jewelry, etc. They'll try to con their way in early by making up some lie or excuse about how they can't be there the day of the sale, blah blah blah.

You could go to sales every week for 10 years and not run into Thebes's luck, though. But if you put the time in you'll undoubtedly find some bargains.

Chris,

To enjoy (and be successful) at finding things of value (for good prices) at Estate Sales (or other 2nd hand places like thrift stores or auctions), you have to have a little bit of the "treasure hunter" spirit. In other words, you have to be able to deal with the fact that most of the time you will come up empty-handed. But occasionally you will, if persistent, find gems. In other words, you must enjoy the hunt. Hey, it gets you out with a different crowd, eh? I mean, I run into people who have never heard my corny jokes, and are generally too polite not to at least give me a courtesy laugh. That's something.