two differnt amps into a Khorn?

lighting guy

Hi, another newbie here, but actually a long time Klipsch follower. (I used to live right next door to PWK himself, but that's a whole other story).

Recently became the proud owner of a pair of '78 horns, built the year after I left Hope High school. In the rush to get 'em cranking I bought an Adcom GFA 545II (100 wpc) and an Adcom pre and they ROCKED, but not the clean, musical sound I know they're capable of. So, I did a lot of time in these forums reading about the different crossover mods and amps, SS vs. SET, etc., etc,...... put a recapping project on the to do list..............

Well, I've just joined a local audio group (where I seem to be the lone Klipsch guy) and expressed my desire for trying tubes. One member loaned me a pair of Wright 3.5 monoblocks. Plugged my low end cd player direcly in and............WOW............... that's what I'm talking about ! Now I know what it means to hear musical clarity and sweet vocal hormonies! I'm now a SET believer! But what about the chest thumping low end I also love out of these monsters?

I'm sure someone out there is running SET on the top and SS on the bottom? Yes? Do I need an electronic crossover or can Al K. build a set for me?

I biamped (briefly) my 79 khorns, mostly as an experiment about a year ago. Got a SS integrated amp, fed it off the preamp out and wired its output directly to the woofer (no change in xover necessary -- opening the woofer circuit effectively removes it from the circuit). Adjusted the bass level via the volume knob on the integrated, and listened for a week or so.

No significant change, but then I'm running 300B amps, not 2A3s, so I took it all apart.

The biggest and bestest thing I've done for my khorns was put in a Bob Crites type A xover last weekend. The 25+ year old caps in the old xover must have been going bad. I'm not one for 'flower talk' but the sound opened up, a veil was lifted, blah blah blah.