When a good tube goes bad...

jt1stcav

I think one of my 300Bs is in the process of kicking the bucket![:'(]

I'm a tube-noob for the most part and haven't experienced tube failure as of yet (until this morning maybe). I fired up my system just now (9AM), and as my 300B SET stereo power amp just turned on and began to warm, 10 seconds later my left TJ Full Music 300B/n output tube had a pulsating blue floresence glow (real bright blue in the morning light), along with a light popping noise (hum) through the left loudspeaker. I immediately turned my amp off and a minute later decided to switch 300Bs left to right just to see if it was indeed the tube and not the amp's circuitry (bad cap, etc...I'm not technically inclined). After switching the 300Bs, I turned my amp back on, and within a 10 second warming up period, the same exact tube (now in the right channel socket) did the very same thing! So after a few seconds, I again turned my amp off (along with the rest of the system). I'm assuming that particular 300B tube is going bad and not a component inside the amp itself that's making this tube act the way it is. Am I even remotely close with this guess?

Because I'm not electrically inclined, why would this output tube be going bad in the first place? Even for the few seconds this tube was acting up, did it cause any damage to the caps, trannies, and other parts within the amp's circuitry? If I was to replace both TJ 300B mesh anode globes with another pair of matched 300Bs, would the very same thing happen again? Bottom line...is my amplifier damaged now due to this problematic tube, or is my amp the possible cause for this tube going south? I haven't a clue what to do next (except NOT to turn my system on), and I don't have the spare coin to be buying 300Bs left and right just to have another tube die on me if the amp's to blame...and I was all excited about trying out my "new" '60s vintage H.H. Scott Stereomaster 370-B tube tuner dammit![:o]