Tube Amps

NOSValves

Okay all you guy's with your tube amp discussions have peaked my interest's. I have heard that the EICO HF-81 is a awesome Amp. What about the EICO ST-40 and ST-70 are they any good ??

I'm completely new to this and anything else that you guy's can add to this would be greatly Appreciated. I'm going to use it to power a set of Heresy II's that I'm going to get soon.

• Replies 85
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

All the EICO tube amps seem to be held in high regard with the 14 watt older HF series leading the pack. All can and, often, need modification and upgrading of old worn parts, just as do dynaco and others. Take a look at the unofficial EICO website:

http://users.rcn.com/fiddler.interport//eico.htm

ans search the tube and vintage sections of:

www.audioasylum.com for opinions and mod info

------------------

Soundog's HT Systems

This message has been edited by soundog on 01-02-2002 at 07:50 AM

The EICO ST-40 and ST-70 use some nice parts, especially the output transformers. The design has some changes from the HF series but many do like the robust EICO ST-70. Unfortunately, they are not as classic looking as the HF series, however.

One of the main downfalls of either the ST-40 or 70 is the fact that they rely on the 7591 output tube, which is not very accessable with only the Electro Harmonix/Sovtek being currently made (this is the only 7591 I know of anywhere other than the hard to find NOS 7591 which is getting rare). The HF series uses the EL-84/6BQ5 which is far easier to locate in vintage NOS or new form.

kh

system one online / alternate components / Asylum Listing f>s>

This message has been edited by mobile homeless on 01-03-2002 at 06:32 AM

I think that a used Jolida 302B or 202 or some other EL-34 amp might be a good bet for you if you dont feel comfortable with something like an EICO. I personally think the EICO HF-81 would offer better sound than even the new ASL AV8 if taken as a whole.