PASSIVE BIAMPING BASICS

BE36

With the Assumption that I have:

1) ALK Crossover that can Biamped

2) McIntosh Mc240 Mids & Tweets

3) Adcom 535 for bottom end

Would hooking up a Low Pass Filter, Bryston 10b, be a realivily simple event? (seeting the Cross over at 700hz, Test CD and My Sound presure meter to match the volume and we are done?)

Do I have to be concerned with any phase or time delays, etc?

The Mc240 is a great amp and much better overall than my Adcoms but I am looking for my cake and eating to, Crisp Low End with great mids and Highs.

Bobs Cast Woofers? VRDs any other suggestions?

I'm not an expert nor did I stay in a Holiday Inn Express last night however, I am biamping.

I think if you want to biamp correctly, you are going to need an active crossover after your preamp. I too own some ALK crossovers that had some kind of strap on them. They're in my LaScalas (I bought his 5800 so I could make them 3-way).

There might be some way to split the signal and put parts in the path to truncate the HF or LF...but I think without an active crossover you are STILL going to be sending full signals to your amps and they're going to be sending full signals to each leg you are trying to create here UNLESS you have the active in there dividing the signal up prior to your amps.

Does that make sense? In other words, as I perceive you to be saying, you are going to have a full signal go to your amp(s) and a full signal OUT of your amps into each leg of this crossover. At this point, each leg is getting a full amplified signal from your amps and you might put other parts in there (low pass...but honestly, that talk is foreign to me) anyways...if you put this filter in there you are intending on beating the signal into submission at the crossover input.

The amp however STILL has to do all the work of creating the full signal.