FYI: JBL/Edgar Wooden Tractrix going on eBay tomorrow

FYI:

A pair of JBL/Edgar 650 Hz Tractrix wooden horns w/drivers are going to close on eBay tomorrow. These are turned from what appears to be solid stacked-block hard rock maple, and are real beauts...a tribute to the wood-turner's art. For what they are, the highest bid so far is only 200 bucks with the reserve not yet met...seems quite low to me. See eBay item # 1348279773.

------------------

If you want to send a private message, or have already done so, be aware I have not as yet been able to retrieve them. Send e-maill instead, please...just note Klipsch forum in the heading so it doesn't get deleted.

• 2 weeks later...

What are those used for?? Subs? with no box just a horn?

Pardon my ignorance if im way off im new to some of this

stuff just trying to learn a thing or 2

------------------

Thanks,

Daryl Gregg cwm12.gif

MY Home Theatre Page

Sony STR-DE975 HT Reciever

Sony DVP-NS400D DVD

SB-3 Mains

SC-1 Center

Quintet Rears

KSW-12 Sub

AR Proseries Interconects

QUiKSR20

They are designed to be used with either a full range driver,(raw) loudspeaker or a midrange driver. You can do a search on the internet using EdgarHorn for more information.

They serve the same purpose as the various sizes and types of horns that are used in the Klipsch speakers.

Quickser---Here's a picture of one of my 550hz Edgar tractrix "saladbowls" using a JBL driver. These are the best sounding horns out there, IMO and also of nearly everyone I've met who's heard saladbowls. Two of us in the Chicago Horn Club, BeanCounter and I, use saladbowls. We both use JBL 2400 series drivers; ****** uses 2420s and I use 2470s with aluminum Radian diaphragms. Mine are made of maple and newer ones are of poplar. I'd pay $600 or so for saladbowls with JBL 1" drivers. New 650hz saladbowls from Edgar are $200 each. They should be crossed at 800hz.

This message has been edited by TBrennan on 05-09-2002 at 05:29 PM