Actual sound level of a system

tpg

no. you have to find the sound intensity level, add that and figure from there, convert it back to dB. it is not just add up the dB rating. it involves logorithms... grrrrrrrrrr

------------------

-justin

SoundWise Support

A technical help site created by me and my fellow Klipschers

I am an amateur, if it is professional;

ProMedia help you want email Amy or call her @ 1-888-554-5665 or for an RA# 800-554-7724 ext 5

Klipsch Home Audio help you want, email support@klipsch.com or call @ 1-800-KLIPSCH

RA# Fax Number=317-860-9140 / Parts Department Fax Number=317-860-9150s>

Just wait until your significant other asks; Is that a new doohickey?...Whaaat?...You know....The one sitting on the little thingamajig. I tell my GF, I've never bought a doohickey in my life. Oooops! I usually wish I could bring those words back.cwm31.gif

------------------

KLIPSCH IS MUSICf>

My Systems f>s>c>

This message has been edited by ShapeShifter on 06-11-2002 at 06:10 PM

I will do the figuring for you. just FWIW... if you had a 112dB and 113dB speaker playing together, the max SPL is 115.5dB. so you can get somewhat of an idea from that, till i figure the current situation you have here Smile.gif

------------------

-justin

SoundWise Support

ProMedia help you want email Amy or call her @ 1-888-554-5665 or for an RA# 800-554-7724 ext 5

Klipsch Home Audio help you want, email support@klipsch.com or call @ 1-800-KLIPSCH

here are the steps (oh how i love to teach physics!)

you need to first get a bel. no not a trip to wal-mart.

bel = B

B=log db/reference level

the reference level is 10^-12 watt/m^2

dB (really a dBl) = 0.1 bel

bel = 10 dB

dBl=10 log

Lpt = 10 log10

so, lets figure this...

note, the log-1 means it is not a natural log, but a log sub -1

who wants to figure this out? not me haha, i wrote the equation, you're going to answer it.

------------------

-justin

SoundWise Support

quote: