tube pre amp

I'm New to this hobby,and was wondering if I use a tube pre amp with a solid state amp would the sound be comparable to a integrated tube amp if so any recommendation on pre amp will be used with k horns .budget would be around 500$ thanks in advance for any advice.

sasqwatch,

conventional wisdom with tubes and SS is that more quality tube sound is obtained with a tube pre amp and SS power amp than the other way around.

I think that's true in my observation.

the various and sundry combinations all seem to have their own kind of synergy. Some combinations sound fabulous, better than one would think, and others aren't enhanced by the particular configuration of gear.

i think a tube pre and ss power amp can be a very good combination.

Thanks daddy dee, I'm currently switching between ss pre, tube amp combo and a ss pre ,ss amp combo they both sound good to me .If i understand correctly I would get a fuller tube sound using a tube pre amp with either amp. I realize what sounds good to one individual isn't true for everyone.With that in mind ,there must be some Merritt to the majority consensus of a quality tube pre.With the vast combined experience of the members here is there any particular pre amp that gets a consistently good review. Stacy

Sasquatch: do investigate this possibility before shying away from or diving into a decision. There are quite a few valve (tube) based linestage preamplifiers that would have a very friendly output/input impedance relationship. The usual ball park figure is a ratio of 1-10, with the input impedance of the amp being ten times that of the output impedance of the device in front of it. I have built several line stages from scratch using common inexpensive tubes such as the 12au7 and 6sn7, and all of them worked fine with our solid state amps -- as mentioned by Dee above, it can make for some very nice listening.