The thread of confusion

Deang

I started my first stage of serious testing last night between the Scott push-pull and my Apollo SET amps.

I'd decided the best way to do this is to spend an evening with each amp, only using three CD's. The three I picked, I've been listening to for 10 years or longer. I decided on these three, because I am extremely familiar with them, and have heard them extensively on every decent system I've owned.

Kelly will be disappointed, as well as others here. However, I felt it imperitive I use material that would not wash out of my auditory memory.

Journey -- Infinity

The Moody Blues -- Anthology

Judas Priest -- Sad Wings of Destiny

With this plan in place, I went forward...about 2 feet.

A while back I had done some extensive listening with different cables, and various configurations on the Apollos. I never posted about it, because what I had found had contradicted earlier posts in the past few months where I had said it didn't amount to a hill of beans of difference. I wasn't sure how I wanted to handle the contradiction, and so have been putting it off. I also had alot of other things going on that were taking priority as far as my attention went.

I had landed a nice pair of Music Metre Silvers off of AudiogoN for $160. This was a 75% savings over retail, and I bought them specifically to settle a thought floating around in my head. The thought was that copper is copper, but that silver is not copper. I was thinking that if cables made a difference, it might be easiest to hear if I went to a different conductive material. I received the cables and promptly put them on the horns, moving the MIT's to the woofers.