which speakers

jayphat_1

I'm a newbie on the audio side of things. I recently purchased a B&K Avr-507 receiver. My question is which speakers are best for this receiver? I've auditioned a lot of speakers. From what I've learned and read because I have a warmer receiver(Mosfet Amplifiers) that the ideal thing would be to get bright speakers. In my local town I have 3 shops. Out of those shops there are Klipsch, Boston, B&W, Monitor Audio, Martin Logan, Def Tech, and Phase Technology. I've listen to them all but not a/b conparsion. The the store that sales the Klipsch recommend Klipsch reference series. All the other stores recommend others because of the klipsch horn will give ear fatigue after long periods of listening. Now I'm all confused. I was looking at an RF-5 package. Please Help Me!!!!!

Jayphat - There are several on this forum who use B&K with their Klipsch Reference speakers and love it. It seems to be a good match.

WRT other sales people saying you'll get ear fatigue, I always take that with a ton of salt. First, since they don't sell Klipsch, be aware of their possible motivations ("sell what we got"). Second, ya think we'd all be loving our Klipsch if we felt ear fatigue was a problem? 1.gif

You'd be well served to take some of your own demo material and spend some time listening - like maybe an hour - and see what YOU think. Remember it will sound different in your home, but it'll give you an idea. Also, make sure that the bass/treble settings are flat in the B&K. You shouldn't need to boost them with any of these speakers.

And, honestly, Klipsch isn't for everyone. We all have preferences. So it's OK to choose something else -- we won't love you anymore -- but it's OK to go off into the ditch (kidding)!

DD