K33E T/S Parameters

John Warren

Someone asked for this information earlier.

This is what I got for the K33E using the mass-shifted Fs method. The values in ( ) are what,

I think, Klipsch provides.

Qms = 9.9 (8.5)

Qes = 0.790 (0.684)

Qts = 0.732 (0.633)

Cms = 388 um/N (305 um/N)

Vas = 368 L (343 L)

L at 1kHz = 1.46 mH

Voice coil DC resistance, Re = 3.4 Ohms (3.2 Ohms)

Resonance frequency, Fs = 35Hz (27 Hz) <<< seems my measurement is a bit high.

----------------

On 11/21/2003 9:53:34 PM John Warren wrote:

The Klipsch numbers I quoted above are from an unknown source.

----------------

The K33 T/S if I recall correctly were actually posted by a klipsch employee ... and I've enclosed the original file posted. The values seem to match those in brackets except (Re) which is actually closer to your measured one.

I have no experience with measured versus specified TS... but it would seem that the variances are great enough to noticeably affect the drivers performance in it's cabinet? ... but I haven't taken the time to model it. Maybe if I have some free time this weekend... 2.gif

Later...

Rob

post-11489-13819250221362_thumb.jpg

Heres the procedure I use.  I suspend the driver from a hook on the ceiling about 3 ft from

any surface. The frequencies are read from a caibrated Fluke 1910-A counter. <?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office" />

1. Measure voice coil resisitance (Re)

2. Measure resonant frequency (Fs)

3. Measure impedance at Fs (Zmax)

4. Calculate ratio of the DC resistance to maximum impedance:

Ro = Zmax / Re

5. Determine two frequencies at some impedance Z above and below the resonance frequency such that:

Z = Re * SQRT (Ro)

and, as a "check" Fs should = SQRT (Fl * Fh)

where Fl = below and Fh = above (I try to get the calculated Fs to within 1Hz).

6. Calculate the mechanical Q at resonance:

Qms = Fs * sqrt(Ro) / (Fh - Fl)

7. Calculate electrical Q at resonance:

Qes = Qms / (Ro - 1)