need some improvement opinions

steelie

Hi all. I'm posting this on the 2-channel forum in hopes of getting some input on how certain improvements may affect my system.

I'm no newbie to this hobby but I'm far from an expert audiophile with a dream system. Still, I'm working up to a decent rig.

Anyway, a day ago I received my SVS sub and for kicks I kept the crossover set to 80 hz for music. I never liked doing that before but now, I can push my receiver much harder before I start hearing the strain/harshness and sybillating Ssss's from the RF7s.

So, my question is, how much will my system improve by getting only a separate amplifier to push the speakers and using the reciever as a processer? Will I lose most of the strain/harshness or will that happen only after I pick up a new pre-amp/processor?

I'm thinking down the road here but solid state is what I'm interested in, specifically because this system (really far down the road) eventually will be exlusively set for HT. My real 2-channel system hasn't even started to be built yet.

For now, though, music is still extremely important to me and I'd like to get the most out my system until that beautiful day in the future when I'll have a dedicated stereo and a dedicated HT.

I am not a fan of Denon, so take this with a grain of salt...

The sibilance thing is thowing me... this only occurs when the sub is on?

It sounds like you are over-driving the amp - does it do it at lower volume also? If so, I would look for something with more power (and not Denon, but only my opinion).

DM2.gif

Sorry, I was trying to keep the post short. The long version is that I used to be a Denon fan and, unfortunately, I am no longer.

I upgraded to RF7s from a Synergy-based system about 8 or 9 months ago and I was all smiles for several months. I did keep the KSW 12, however, and never used it except for movies.