Jazz recommendation from Max? (short)

maxg

I posted this in my diatribe on the weekend but I thought I would post it separately for those that normally steer clear of my longwindedness.

I am no expert - but this sounded so good even I might buy it. Tony has already ordered his and several members of the forum seem to have done likewise:

Allan may care to comment...this is his area, not mine.

RAY BROWN/SOULAR ENERGY 180g 2LP (RED)

Elusive disc have it in stock and have this to say about it:

"The Ray Brown Trio featuring Gene Harris "Soular Energy" is available on Pure Audiophile Records for a short time only. Ray Brown, Gene Harris, and Gerryck King are spectacular in this 1984 recording. Red Holloway (tenor sax) and a rare appearance by the great Emily Remler (guitar) round out the original musicians.

This will be the consummate issue of this famous release. Stan Ricker plays the bass to this day, and is a big fan of Ray Brown. It was a special situation to be able to have him half-speed master this LP for us, on HQ-180 gram colored (Red) virgin vinyl, and pressed at RTI. They are extremely limited and individually numbered, in gatefold jackets. It will be the first of a rare special series of LPs called "Lab Reference Series".

We went to the original session tapes and came up with 3 alternate takes that are fantastic! They were mixed by Phil Edwards (2002) at PER just like the original session. Another track (CC Rider) was added as a bonus and to equal out the 4 sides of this incredible 2-LP set. Don't miss this one! - Production Notes

Musicians: Ray Brown, bass; Gene Harris, piano; Gerryck King, ds; Red Holloway, tenor sax; Emily Remler, guitar.

Selections:

1. Exactly Like You

2. Cry Me a River

3. Teach Me Tonight

4. Take the "A" Train

5. Mistreated But Undefeated Blues

6. That's All

7. Easy Does It

8. Sweet Georgia Brown

Bonus Tracks

9. Mistreated But Undefeated Blues

10. Cry Me A River

11. Take the 'A' Train

12. CC Rider "