Judging a speaker by its "specs"?

dalcorn

I'm still in the process of picking out components for my 2 channel setup. I'm not particularly in a position to just go to a dealer and listen to every setup and choose since there is not really a dealer close to me that keeps a bunch of Klipsch in stock.

How much can I base on specs? I notice for example the RF-25s say 45Hz-. Could I not expect much low end punch from them? I wanted to go with a pair of Klipsch floorstanders and either a Marantz PM7200 or NAD C320BEE. I like the fact that the Marantz has a phono stage.

What pair of Klipsch speakers would be in the <~500$ price range (cheaper the better)? I'm a college student so I was even looking at Synergy F1s. I was considering trying to get something off audiogon like heresys.

You could get a nice pair of heresies for under $400 if you're patient, but they would be really lacking in the low end. A really good deal would be a pair of Forte/Chorus for under $600-$700 (After lots of work getting them to chicago from florida my Chorus II's ended up costing me $500). You could probably find a beater pair for less too.

As far as specs go, the 45Hz is a -3dB point which means the bass is already starting to roll off there. That said, the speaker goes low enough such that I don't think you would never tell the difference until you've heard information below those frequencies. The boom from a kick drum is generally in the 60-80Hz region, with 40Hz being real low. The lowest note on a 4 string bass guitar is 32Hz.

Pick up a pair of Heresys for now - you can always add to your system, but you'll never regret buying the Heresys.

Dr. Who is right, if you are patient, you can find Heresys in the $3-350 range (I just bought a nice pair locally for $290).

James

----------------

On 5/9/2005 11:57:07 PM DrWho wrote: