Room treatments 101: where to start?

PrestonTom

Folks,

I am bit embarrassed to confess this since I actually work in audio.

I will be finishing up a kitchen re-model, which of course has taken 3 times as long to complete then as I predicted. Which leaves me time for my next project: Serious (or semi-serious) sound treatments for my listening room.

I live in a raised ranch and use the living room as my listening room (K-Horns with 2-channel music & no eye toward home theater). The room is limited by 8 ft ceilings but measures 12 ft deep by 19 ft wide. The width spills open to a front entry stairwell, and a hallway. The depth spills open to a wide kitchen entrance with a cutout (window) between the rooms. There are enough complications so that a simple geometric model will not work. But the good news is that the space is not terribly small.

First question: When Artto and others first tackled their environments, what was the first step. As a scientist, I am inclined to do some subjective evaluation about what I like and don't like and then follow this up with some physical/acoustic measurements before starting

My dilemma is the measurement issue. Naively, one could use some long-term signals (flat noise or warble-tones) and measure long-term frequency response. This could tell me about standing waves. This frequency domain approach is attractive since it is straight forward and easily implemented ( I can borrow some of the equipment from work). However, the disadvantage of a frequency domain approach is that a highly reverberant room can also generate a sound field with a uniform SPL (room modes are densely spaced). Such a reverberant room can sound terrible (believe me I used to work with these).