Clap test

damonrpayne

What is the significance, if there is any, of what you hear when you walk around clapping loudly in your room.

In a somewhat spartan room, like my spare bedroom I can clap and hear a momentary echo, no big deal. I had never thought of this before, but I walked around my movie room doing this. In the front of my room, I was actually shocked at the echo-sound that clapping produces. I'm not very good at describing sounds but it sounds more like dropping a phone book in an empty garage than clapping in a room. boing-oing-oing-oing-oign-oing, and keeps up for slightly more than a second. I was thinking that part of this could be the hvac duct on the ceiling that is somewhat near the front of the room. I should really record this sound and post it here, I'm sure this must be affecting what I hear from the speakers.

What you're hearing is due to parallel solid bare walls. Why can't I remember the name for this echo??? Bah, so stupid as it's such a common term.

Anyways, that boinging is why I was recommending you splay your side walls. You can fix it with acoustical treatment, but it's going to require covering a lot of the surface of the wall with diffusors. You might also consider absorption in places where you can't redirect the reflections away from the listening positions.

You aren't going to notice it as much at the listening position because the furniture is breaking up the standing waves.

What you're hearing is due to parallel solid bare walls. Why can't I remember the name for this echo??? Bah, so stupid as it's such a common term.

Anyways, that boinging is why I was recommending you splay your side walls. You can fix it with acoustical treatment, but it's going to require covering a lot of the surface of the wall with diffusors. You might also consider absorption in places where you can't redirect the reflections away from the listening positions.