Dedicated circuit question....

Coytee

I'm not an electrician so I don't even know if this is possible or unsafe for other reasons that I'm unaware of...

Current situation is, when I had some tube amps (now gone), if I had the system on and the wife turned on the Kirby... my breaker tripped. That told me (aside from the breaker being less tolerant) that I was using the bulk of my capacity.

Move things to downstairs and right now, I'm planning on having several circuits so if I have several tube amps (worst case would be four since I'm biamping)

Anyways... I would not want them all on the same line and save it from some stress. I'm planning on having say, 6 outlets and each outlet with its own breaker.

OR, it dawned on me... instead of running some 12-2wg to these seperate lines, would there be some merit in running a single 10-2wg and put more of the breakers on a higher rated circuit, thereby keeping their ground the same? What if I used 8g?

I know there's an expense for the thicker wire so that's not what I'm asking about. I don't mind additional expense if it's going to really HELP.

I DO seem to recall however, my brother in law telling me once that 10g wire is rather difficult to attach to an outlet. I just now remembered that.

Fortunately for me, the builder isn't to the electrical stage in the new room so I have some time to ponder.

• Replies 70
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

What I think of when I read thru your post is a sub panel. A sub panel is a small breaker box located in a section of a facility. The sub panel contains circut breakers.

Advantage to the sub panel is that instead of running multiple 20 amp runs from your localized section of the facility, you would run one large one between the main panel and the sub panel.

Sub panels have a service rating for example 60 amps (30 amps red, 30 amps black). two breakers would be needed in your main panel to protect the sub panel.