Woodworkers? Cabinet Makers, Please Help

tom b. 57

I would like to get my Clear Oak Belle to match my Oiled Oak Belle. Can anyone with experience clue me in on a procedure that is not too difficult for getting these babies to match?

I have no experience working with wood and am looking for a simple method to get these looking as close to the same as possible.

I don't know what all will be involved besides cleaning the cabinets well. Do I need to sand? Do I need to use any chemicals? What is the best product to use for a good deep clean on these? Do I use a stain? Is there a particular Oil I can rub into them that will give me the desired finish?

Please help.

Thank you, Tom

Greg928 is our resident woodworking expert.

I'm not sure how close of a match you're looking for, but it might be difficult with a natural product like wood, especially if they are years apart and/or have seen different conditions.

I know Greg has recommended Fromby's products for cleaning and restoring. I just refinished three 25 year old Scandanavian Design teak bookcases with the cleaner and tung oil and they came out great!!

I would like to get my Clear Oak Belle to match my Oiled Oak Belle. Can anyone with experience clue me in on a procedure that is not too difficult for getting these babies to match?

I have no experience working with wood and am looking for a simple method to get these looking as close to the same as possible.

I don't know what all will be involved besides cleaning the cabinets well. Do I need to sand? Do I need to use any chemicals? What is the best product to use for a good deep clean on these? Do I use a stain? Is there a particular Oil I can rub into them that will give me the desired finish?

Please help.

Thank you, Tom

Tom b.,

You have only one of each, or one pair of each??

Roger

Please help.

Thank you, Tom

Tom b.,

You have only one of each, or one pair of each??

Roger

I have one of each.

Does one have lacquer on it and the other oil?