Klipchorn Question

Beesley

If you do a search with the word Klipschorn you will see a lot of posts. There was one dealing with Dope from Hope information on really early Khorns and recommended upgrades.

I am not an expert on Khorns, but I wouldn't turn down a pair if they were offered. Older ones can be had for a lot less money than new ones. They may have the odd nick or scratch on them, but that is expected from a 20-50 year old speaker.

Mid 60's to current models have different crossover networks in them. From what I have read most people either like the AA network or the ALK (from ALKeng). The newer AK-4 doesn't have an autotransformer in it. How this effects the network, I'm not sure.

I'm sure others would be able to chime in with their expertise.

you will get opinions on both sides. I think build quality is a good or better than ever. I think it safe to say that the alnico drivers on older k-horns are coveted. some also swear by the first x-over the type A.

others will tell you there have been improvements and that the k-horns produced in the mid to late 90's (with the AK-3 x-over) and the newest version are both marvelous speakers. some doubts are cast about the 70's and 80's k-horns.

I think that while there is a nuance-level difference in all these speakers, if you like the klipschorn sound you will like any klipschorn. you cannot go wrong with any k-horn IF the k-horn sound appeals to you.

What you can do is optimize a k-horn for your system, listening tastes and environment.

the interaction between your chosen k-horn and the amplifier (tube versus solid state, type of tube amp, etc.) the room (live or dead, large or small) etc. will determine which of the k-horns is better for you.

IMHO, first decide if you want a klipschorn, then describe the rest of the system and it's environment, then describe your musical preferences, THEN a specific k-horn type can be recommended.

regards, tony