What Went In, What Came Out

Frzninvt

Hello there, I recently received my DeanG AA type crossover for my center channel La Scala. The picture shows what went in and what came out. The swap was rather easy with the hardest part being me trying to contort my body to get behind that La Scala and hold that heavy crossover in place while I tried to get my screw gun in there to secure it.

My impressions, well first let me say that I am far from an expert and my old tired ears have been abused for years with firearms, loud car systems, and heavy machinery. However, I have been into audio in many forms for around 20 years now and I know what sounds good.

The first thing that was immediately apparent to me even with my center oriented in a vertical configuration rather than a horizontal one for TV height concerns was that the speaker sounded alot smoother, minute details were now very easily distinguishable from one another even when the material got complex and overlapping. It was there before but not at this level, I did not get a chance to do much listening the first night though.

Last night I tried a myriad of music and DVD's and I must now say that it made a big difference! The opening minutes of Die Another Day in DTS-ES were really incredible every little soundtrack nuance was faithfully reproduced with amazing clarity, I could count the brass being expelled from the countless machine gun bursts. Just when you thought it could not get much better it does! I then skipped through some tracks on Sade's Diamond Life CD - Wow! After that some B-52's and some Missing Person's to see if the older recorded CD's produced the same level of detail and they did. Engaging the DBX DX5's DAIR circuits further improved the less than stellar recordings and really made the high's sparkle.