burning cd's

oldtimer

I would like to record some lp's onto cd's using my computer. Please help me starting from ground zero since I am not a computer whiz and I have never done this before. Which program for recording do you suggest? Any tips, advice are greatly appreciated. Thanks.

There's quite a bit of free .wav editors out there; I'd search the web for shareware. Wavelab Lite if you can find it would nice. I find the Steinberg products very flexible and they are well designed.

Actually, I think J. River Media Center may have a wav editor and record funtion. It's a really great program and you can try it for 30 days.

Others popular "expensive" progs include: Magix Sequoia, Sonic Foundry Soundforge, Steinberg Wavelab.

What about your phono stage? Going direct from a TT with an onboard amp? Receiver? Integrated?

I'll try to dig up some FAQ's....

http://forums.pcper.com/showthread.php?t=298117

http://forums.pcper.com/showthread.php?t=381168

http://www.tweakheadz.com/soundcards_for_the_home_studio.htm

Dr. C

As someone who has recorded extensively at home, both analog and digital, I'd reccomend buying a nice three head tape deck. Nakamichi, Yamaha, Sony ES, some of the Onkyo's, TEACs and Pioneers are also quite nice. Easier, quicker, fewer problems and the sound quality is just as good.

Now that you're probably disregarding that advice... here's some more. :)

Best quality would require you using an A-D converted outside of your computer and running that into a digital soundcard. If you do the A/D conversion through the computer's soundcard, unless you get a real nice one specifically for music, you're going to get all kinds of ugly noise from the innards of the computer. You can get outboard soundcards now I think, just for this type of thing.