Newbie Help

Hey everyone,

First time poster although I've been lurking a while. I thought I'd step out of the shadows and ask the forum this.

Pretend you just picked up a pair of Heresys for $200, which I have1.gif

Now pretend you have $500-$600 for an amp, which I don't8.gif

Thats what VISA is for right?

What amp would you be looking for at that price level.

I listen to classic rock (Uriah Heep, Deep Purple, ect.)

My room is small 13x13

Thanks a lot everyone,

keep Rockin' and God Bless

Ron

• Replies 47
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

No, Visa is for buying something you can afford and pay off on the next statement, if you are wise.

FWIW even if you had the cash, all you need is a decent solid state receiver capable of at least 50 watts per channel into an 8 ohm load. That are lots of those available for less than $500.

Doesn't sound like tubes is the way to go in your case, unless you have a particular interest in tubes.

I'm a salesman and one of my vendors just offered me his NAD amp, 150/ch, can you say overkill, so I guess now I'm in need of a good pre-amp.

My other equipment is cheesy, but not for long. Technics low budget TT and a Phillips cd player, now I'm embaressed14.gif

Thanks for the input so far and yes, as a fellow Texan you are required to help me and hand over all high-end equipment.

Paragraph 3 subsection AA of the fellow Texas handbook, if you don't have one I can email it over to you2.gif

God Bless

Ron

Damn we have not had a good NEWBIE thread in a long time.

It is sometime since I was a NEWBIE. It was fun while it lasted.

Start small.

A few of the Texas contingent like Sea Dog may have an old HK receiver they may part with for less than $ 150, or maybe much less.

Solid state Harmon Kardon goes well with Klipsch as an entry level amp.

Vintage SS keeps you out of credit card bills and generally acheives reasonably pleasing realism.