Moral Dilemna: Purchasing and Returning

ancientdude

THe big retailers have a 30 day money back guarantee, so here is my situation:

I have sold my amp and bought another amp but am still in need of a pre/pro so while I sm waiting for my amp to arrive I amconsidering heading down to the local futureshop and purchased a yamaha receiver that is on sale (with every intention of returning it before the 30 days are up). I only want to purchased it to be able to listen to music in the time I would be without, but if it really sounds good, I might just keep it...who really knows in the end?

Anyone find this morally objectional....

I know I am studying philosophy, in particular ethics, but second opinions are greatly appreciated...thank you!

I do not buy anything on such terms unless I am likely to keep the unit. In the US, returned merchandise is B stock or Z stock or open box etc that usually sells at a 20% to 50% discount. It is illegal to sell returned good as "New-in-Box" (NIB).

The other side of such a practice is that it will become more difficult for others to return merchadise in the future.

Bill

IMO, this one is a tossup.

When the seller has a "no questions asked" return policy, they do this to be friendly to the buyer and to attract buyers who may be ambivalent to the purchase. The buyer may return the item and it is within the stated/written terms of the contract.

I do not think this is a hardship on the seller. They sell open box items routinely still recover their wholesale price and more.

If the buyer's conscience troubles him or her, that's a good reason to not proceed.

This is a case which, IMO is not morally objectionable.

On occasions when I have considered such, I usually pass on the opportunity. Not really that it is such a bad thing to do. I just seems to much like work to return the item and packaging properly packed as original. I find it exhausting to wind up all those little cords, etc.