Advice needed for Khorns

Beatjunky

I know this is a thread that many regular patrons of this site have seen time and time again and they are probably tired of responding to it. I appreciate those who take the time to respond. Yesterday I acquired a pair of Khorns from a gentleman who was their first owner and they are CHOICE. I will be the first to admit it, I am a newb to tube amps and am quite overwhelmed with the amount of information I have received from this forum in the past few days. All sorts of questions dealing with crossover upgrades to replacement of the horns, squawker, and tweeters has led me to believe that I am not prepared for these speakers. Then again that gives me all the reason to learn. I am eager to create the best soundscape possible with my budget but have nowhere near the level of know-how that many of the audiophile's do on the forum. If anyone out there responding to this post has any recommendations as to where I can obtain a basic foundation of literature pertaining to the maintenance, care, and suggested set-up of these speakers it would so greatly be appreciated. Also, any tube amp recommendation would be warmly received. Thanks to all, take care, happy holidays. cwm30.gif

Beatjunky, first, keep it simple. Save all of the tweaking for much later down the road. Klipschorns are one of the easiest speakers to set up and enjoy. Here goes:

1. Put the speakers in the corners, on the long wall if possible. 2. Set up your listening position as close to 60% of the distance between the speakers as possible. Farther away is better than closer. You are done with set up!

If your speakers have a lacquered finish, just dust them. If they are oiled, they should be oiled a couple of times per year.