e-bay cornwalls

ricktate

Rick, I'm assuming you mean this pair?http://cgi.ebay.com/aw-cgi/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=1315421375

They actually look the same to my eye, except for the black horizontal stripe between the woofer and squawker on the RH box ... Think it's velcro that someone added to keep the grill tight, although I'm not sure.

Nice pair for sure.

I'd have to pass the second part of your question since I have no experience in that area.

Happy New Year.

------------------

If you don't like what is coming out, you wouldn't like what is going in." -PWK-

---------------------

Klipsch 1968 ALK Cornwall "II"s (LF/RF)

ALK Belle Klipsch (Center)

Klipsch Heresy (RR/LR)

Klipsch KSW-12 sub

Sonic Frontiers Anthem AMP1 (driving Cornwalls)

Sonic Frontiers Anthem AMP1 (driving Heresy's)

Denon AVR-4800

Toshiba SD-3109 DVD

Rick,

I agree these Cornwalls http://cgi.ebay.com/aw-cgi/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=1315421375 do look a little odd. They say they are 1978's based on the stated serial number of 14S942.

But........

1) There is only one 1 opening in the grill board for both of the horns. I thought this was done much LATER, maybe with the Cornwall II's

2) There are two openings for the bass port which was discontiued EARLIER than 1978. I have consulted my personal ebay Reference Library and find a 1978 pair (with risers also) that has three openings and on this pair I can SEE the Serial number to establish them as 1978.

3) The woofers appear to have been re-coned or replaced.

Could the these be Frankenstein Cornwalls?

I would hope others would comment to confirm (or correct)

Mike

------------------

3 Channel Audio:

1980 Cornwalls

Klipsch Quartet as Rear

The following I bought NEW in 1971:

McIntosh MR-74

McIntosh C-26

McIntosh MC-2505

This message has been edited by Good2BHome on 12-31-2001 at 02:00 PM