Let’s say you wanted to build a new CF-4

jwgorman

I am considering building a super CF-4.  I’m thinking similar size and performance and to the extent possible perhaps improving performance. 

I have access to a cabinet maker with cnc saws so I think the cabinet part would be relatively easy. At least for me. 

The Ciarre HW32s look sort of interesting as do the Faital Pro 144 or 146s on the Faital horn. I have no experience with the Ciarre drivers though. I just threw those out  there as something that might work.  Maybe someone else has thought about this. And I know there are some people who are very knowledgeable about the CF Epic series. 

The hw321's are what were being used as a replacement for the KLF-30 so should be good for the output.  Need to squeeze the crossover low enough to do some management in the crossover to avoid problems with that rise at 1k and peak.at 2k.

I have the Faital HF10AK on a set of 511s crossed around 800hz (little low but not pro use) to two Focal 13v 7511 woofers.  Works very well, very clean.  Crossover just needs to be managed appropriately due to similar woofer peaks.

Maybe I should have called it Big D’Appolito. 

2 hours ago, pzannucci said:

Another thing is that in an MTM configuration (WTW), you have to pay close attention to distance to center for the crossover and height of horn since any up and down off center or incorrect crossover point to distance can create nulls.

Yes.  This is where the heavy lifting comes in. I can cross the HF146/Faital horn at 700HZ and I can use a calculator to tune the box and come up with a generic 3rd order x-over, but I forsee a lot of trial and error. Unless I went electronic and established a baseline that way I suppose. I’m out of my element with this part.

10 hours ago, jwgorman said:

I am considering building a super CF-4.  I’m thinking similar size and performance and to the extent possible perhaps improving performance.